Welcome is Bologna

MUSICA ASSOLUTA V: Quartetto Adorno

Bologna Modern #3: festival per le musiche contemporanee

Date: 22/11/2018

via Manzoni, 5 - Bologna

Phone +39051271932

Fax 051279278

Reference maps: C-4

Date of last update: 28/09/2018, 12:50

Edoardo Zosi, violin
Liù Pelliciari, violin
Benedetta Bucci, viola
Danilo Squitieri, cello

Dmitrij Šostakovič (1906-1975)
String Quartet No. 13 in B flat minor op. 138
String Quartet No. 14 in F sharp major op. 142
String Quartet No. 15 in E flat minor op. 144

In the ‘70s Šostakovič was increasingly undermined by his disease and often resorted to composing in a hospital bed or in his dacha in Repino, where the thirteenth and fourteenth Quartet originated: the first is short and gloomy, yet open to new sounds, while the next one has more playful moments. It is hypotesized that Šostakovič intended to complete twenty-four quartets in all keys; his project stopped at the fifteenth, written in hospital in 1974, a lucid meditation on death in six Adagi. Almost his last words, entrusted by Musica Insieme to Adorno Quartet, awarded at the "Borciani" Competition in 2017.

Further information and updates visit the website

  • Date: 22/11/2018