Welcome is Bologna

MUSICA ASSOLUTA II: Quartetto César Franck

Bologna Modern #3: festival per le musiche contemporanee

Date: 24/10/2018

via Manzoni, 5 - Bologna

Phone +39051271932

Fax 051279278

Reference maps: C-4

Date of last update: 28/09/2018, 12:32

Marco Mazzamuto, violin
Niccolò Musmeci, violin
Salvatore Randazzo, viola
Salvatore Mammoliti, cello

Dmitrij Šostakovič (1906-1975)
String Quartet No. 4 in D major op. 83
String Quartet No. 6 in G major op. 101
String Quartet No. 5 in B-flat major op. 92

At the time of the composition of the fourth Quartet (1949), Šostakovič was a victim of the censorship by the regime: having lost his place at the Conservatory, he made a living as a pianist and author of music for cinema. Maintaining a careful yet not servile position to the Party, he would be gradually rehabilitated. His music remained his private oasis, to which entrust his most intimate confessions: it is the case of the fourth, fifth and sixth Quartet, composed from 1949 to 1956, performed by the Quartetto César Franck, selected for the project "Le Dimore del Quartetto".

Further information and updates visit the website

  • Date: 24/10/2018