The building of this magnificent palace opening on via D'Azeglio was commissioned between 1477 and 1482 by jurist Niccolò Sanuti and his spouse Nicolosia (lover of Sante Bentivoglio) to an architect and workers perhaps from Tuscany or Ferrara. Certainly, although this is one of the town's main monumental endeavours of its time, it does not recall the local architecture of the period, still hanging on Medieval and Gothic styles. Its many stylistic choices, such as the lack of arcades and the use of smooth-angled ashlar similar to the Diamonds' Palace by Biagio Rossetti in Ferrara are not typically Bolognese. The use of grey stone from Porretta is instead linked to the Sanuti's fief in Porretta. The entrance opens on to a charming courtyard with two overlapping open galleries with stone relief decorations by Tommaso Filippo da Varignana and brick decorations by Sperandio da Mantova. Relevant restoration work was carried out in the early 20th century by Alfonso Rubbiani and A. Casanova who also renovated the painted frieze on the upper gallery. In the façade the bas-reliefs are probably due to Francesco di Simone da Fiesole. The importance of this noble residence is further confirmed by the choice of Pope Paul III to move there some of the sessions of the Council of Trent in 1547.