Welcome is Bologna

MUSICA ASSOLUTA IV: Quartetto Guadagnini

Bologna Modern #3: festival per le musiche contemporanee

Date: 15/11/2018

via Manzoni, 5 - Bologna

Phone +39051271932

Fax 051279278

Reference maps: C-4

Date of last update: 28/09/2018, 12:44

Fabrizio Zoffoli, violin
Cristina Papini, violin
Matteo Rocchi, viola
Alessandra Cefaliello, cello

Dmitrij Šostakovič (1906-1975)
String Quartet No. 10 in A flat major op. 118
String Quartet No. 11 in F minor op. 122
String Quartet No. 12 in D flat major op. 133

The formal freedom experienced by Šostakovič in the last quartets gives room to an extreme variety of solutions in the triad from the tenth to the twelfth Quartet. Written in 1964, the tenth Quartet reveals some of the author's typical traits, such as the contrast between melancholic times and vortexed energy splits. The eleventh, "in memory of Vasilij Širinskij", violinist of the Beethoven Quartet, reveals a general sore affliction. In 1968 the twelfth Quartet resorted to dodecaphony as a "medium" for purely melodic purposes. Guest of Musica Insieme, Quartetto Guadagnini, already awarded with "Piero Farulli" Prize in the context of "Franco Abbiati" Prize.

Further information and updates visit the website

  • Date: 15/11/2018