Welcome is Bologna


Bologna Modern #3: festival per le musiche contemporanee

Date: 8/11/2018

via Manzoni, 5 - Bologna

Phone +39051271932

Fax 051279278

Reference maps: C-4

Date of last update: 28/09/2018, 12:44

Tiziano Baviera, violin
Alberto Franchin, violin
Sara Dambruoso, viola
Tommaso Tesini, cello

Dmitrij Šostakovič (1906-1975)
String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor op. 108
String Quartet No. 8 in C minor op. 110
String Quartet No. 9 in E flat major op. 117

In 1960 Nikita Chruščëv welcomed Šostakovič in his Olympus, making him first secretary of the League of Composers. Confident in this new course, Šostakovič celebrated the Soviet history and principles in his symphonies. It was a very productive period: the seventh and eighth Quartet were born that very same year. If the seventh stands out for brevity and formal density, the eighth is perhaps its most dramatic - and celebrated - fresco, dedicated "to the memory of the victims of fascism and war". In 1964 instead there was a happy pretext for the ninth Quartet, dedicated to his wife Irina. The Quartets will be performed by Quartetto Noûs, the award-winning Italian ensemble born in 2011.

Further information and updates visit the website

  • Date: 8/11/2018