In Corte de Galluzzi, near Via D’Azeglio, is this Oratory of San Giovanni Battista Fiorentini. The Galluzzi family built the Church it was originally attached to and the tower on the left of this building. In 1546 and after many years of disrepair, the church was purchased by a group of weavers from Florence who subsequently had this oratory constructed in 1570 above the church for their own use. Domenico Baroni was commissioned to paint in 1668 but then in 1670 Mauro Aldrovandini had the task of painting these incredible frescoes on the vault, the main one here called The Gloria of St John the Baptist. In 1699 Giuseppe Rolli along with Paolo Guidi painted frescoes on the two walls adding to the already spectacular atmosphere of art work that now characterizes this former oratory. The paintings on either side depict flagellation scenes of Jesus on his way to be crucified.It’s not indicated who built the balcony but this too boasts ornate decorations over head. It’s now owned by the Banca di Bologna that opens this to conferences and private functions. Upstairs are more rooms with one in particular looking out over the piazza below.